How to be a better person?

Quite frankly, I have no idea. But, like everyone else, I am doing my fair bit. Or at least, I think so.

Of late, I am beginning to see the many lacunae that I have- yes, there was a phase when I thought I was flawless. My conduct, my thoughts and ideas and so on and so forth. Everything. What was I thinking Smile with tongue out But, thanks to the great company that I have of late, I have come to realise how things actually are- rather than how I think they are. Funnily enough, there are major divergences.

One of the things which I have been working on, is the urge to impose my values on others. For instance, I am not so much of a believer in fat-Indian-weddings. My reservations aside, I do believe that marriages are sacred, and essential. And it is quite alright to be excited about it. But from what I have seen in the last decade or so, the whole excitement has been reduced to some sort of competition among brides and grooms ( feminisation of men, but more on that later ). Competitive idiocy, if I might daresay, to spend as much as they can.

Digging a little deeper, it turns out that everyone wants their wedding ( meaning thereby- outfits, shamiana, DJ, stage etc. ) to be unique. Something that nobody else has had, or seen.

How innocent Open-mouthed smile If only I could tell my friend that the gown she bought for 50,000 INR has been bought from the same shop by 50 other brides that very day. So, as far as being unique goes, more spending does not help very much. There is this other lack of self worth, issue which plays a bigger role though.

In a nutshell, marriage has been reduced to a one day ( rather a 5 hour ) circus with people trying to outspend each other. Tragic.

But of course, you are unique. And you marriage should be a manifestation of the person you are- the one that has endures years of schooling, college- and life, to say the least. It would be a terrible idea anyway to be just another groom/bride in the assembly line.

But then, what do I know! I am not getting married Winking smile

2 thoughts on “How to be a better person?

  1. Hehe. It just boils down to let a person be. Everyone finds happiness in something, and it could be absolutely unique or totally run of the mill. If the gown made her feel amazing inside, it’s absolutely worth it. So it’s okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!! That is a interesting question? Hmmm! I think a way a person can be a better person is by believing on themselves, owning their own forms of flaws and issues that they dealing with. And most importantly figuring out who you really are as a human being.

    Like

What do YOU think ?

